minimalist style: autumn capsule wardrobe

The last post focused on why capsule wardrobes are the perfect system for someone who wants a simpler closet and to be a more socially conscious consumer! Now I’m going to show you guys an example of what a capsule wardrobe looks like by using my own for this Autumn as an example.

I try to keep between 35-37 active pieces in my wardrobe each season, as that allows me a good variety of tops, bottoms, outerwear, and shoes.That being said, I exclude professional dress, and activewear from my capsule, since they aren’t “everyday” outfits. At this time, I currently have 32 pieces in my active capsule (i.e. not in storage) and that leaves some wiggle room to add a top that was in the laundry, shoes I left at home, etc.

Outerwear: Gray cardigan, cream knit cardigan, flannel, army jacket, bomber jacket (not pictured: wine pullover)

AUTUMN OUTER.JPG

Tops: denim button vest, floral tee, striped blouse, pink blouse, gray hi-low top, patterned blouse, red embellished blouse, gray v-neck, striped crop tee (not pictured: [another] striped tee)

AUTUMN TOPS.JPG

Bottoms: high waisted shorts, dark wash shorts, boyfriend jeans, black jeans, suede skirt, denim midi skirt, dark wash jeans

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Shoes: huaraches, converse, Minnetonka boots, Sperry’s, Birkenstocks, Chelsea booties, Vans, JS rainboots

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I’m going to try and be more consistent with outfit posts this fall – with one outfit being shared each week. I really hope this inspires you to try a capsule wardrobe – it’s fun, and encourages simplicity in an area where we are so often excessive. Cheers to simple living and more outfit posts! Remember to not take yourself too seriously doing this! The point is to save money, and be more conscious of how you shop. Buying the one dress you’ve been wanting forever is okay – simplicity doesn’t happen over night. I’m still learning and struggling to be more in line with this lifestyle change, but it has already given me so much.

-till next time! Niara

3 thoughts on “minimalist style: autumn capsule wardrobe

  1. Love this, Niara! I love your choices, and your color palette. I already have some of the same pieces: black jeans, boyfriend jeans, denim shirt. I like your choices for tops, but I would have to “age them up.” I’m too old for spaghetti straps (although I love them). I could look for similar tops that have cap or three-quarter sleeves.

    1. I’m glad you like my choices! I am definitely love/hate with spaghetti straps, but I chose longer, flow-y tops so that they are easier to layer (either with another shirt or a cardigan). I’d love to know what other pieces you find that work for you! I’m always looking for more options!

let's connect - leave a comment!

