why you should try a capsule wardrobe

The last year, I’ve been partaking in a fashion capsule. It’s a new trend that’s been taking fashionistas by storm – and the best part? It values simplicity over materialism, and quality over quantity. I began the capsule in October, and since school is starting soon, I’ll be sharing my pieces for my Autumn 2016 capsule wardrobe. But first, I’m going to outline what the purpose of a capsule wardrobe is, and give my tips + advice for creating and sticking to one! I think this is such a great concept, with a really important purpose, and I feel really passionate about sharing the positive effects of simplifying one’s closet.

I want to start off by saying there’s nothing wrong with liking clothes, or enjoying options when dressing yourself. The problem arises when we become victims to our materialistic culture. From toddler-hood (full disclosure: I’m 90% sure that’s not a real word), we are marketed to – this is a global issue. People become consumers at such early stages in life, from ads showing what all the “cool kids” wear (I’m looking at you, Amy-Schumer-Old-Navy BTS commercial), to things in the store that are placed at a child’s eye level. It’s no wonder the crutch of shopping sticks with us into adulthood. The goal for these companies is to make more money, and to do that, they must keep insisting that for us to be happy, fulfilled, and enough, we need to participate int their semi-bicentennial-one-day-blowout sale! Which is completely false. If no one’s told you yet, here it is – you don’t need more clothes.

The beauty of a capsule wardrobe is that it takes away that crutch instantly. Hoda Katebi and Un-Fancy both have great tips on how to begin a capsule wardrobe. In a nutshell, for a season (I go every 3 months), you pare your closet down to 20-40 items, and do not buy any more until the end of your season. I’m not going to lie, it was kind of hard to decide what I was going to keep and what I was going to sell/donate. But in the end, it was so worth it, because I was left with only clothes I care about, much more space in my closet, and a clearer mind. If you’re really skeptical of this whole thing, the one undeniable truth is that it’ll be easier to pick out your clothes every day (you know, because you’ll have less to pick from).

The one track mind of corporations to make money preys on us – 5% of Americans struggle with an overspending disorder. This leads to debt, comparison, and unfulfillment, because the lies we are told by our commercialized culture are just that – lies.

In discussing capsule wardrobes with several friends, I’ve heard all ends of the spectrum: from “why didn’t I know about this before!!!” to “I don’t want to be told to limit my closet!” In response to the latter, the great thing is that when you only have 35 active pieces in your closet, you are forced to be creative. Style doesn’t have anything to do with owning more cardigans/blouses/shoes than you need. Style has to do with putting together pieces that accentuate your best features and do their job well for the season they are worn in. If you’re constantly shopping, often that handing cash goes to low-quality and unethical companies.

I accept that I’m materialistic. There’s really not much we can do about that in the consumerist environment we’ve grown up and developed in. I’m also not attempting to be preachy or judgmental of those who do not do capsule wardrobes. But, I do think there is a beautiful by-product of ditching all the excess in your closet. It allows for freedom from our materialistic culture (even if you don’t see it that way at first), and so, an avenue to pursue minimalism and simplicity in other aspects of your life. Worrying about clothes leads to worrying about outside appearance and societal standards, which is never good for the soul. If you take can away a large chunk of the cause, you can get rid of a substantial amount of the negative effect. Capsule wardrobes encourage buying quality pieces that will last a long time, leading to more recycling of goods at consignment + thrift shops, and ensures that when you do buy, it’s for a reason – no more giving your money to brands that hurt your fellow humans. Win-win-win (times infinity) scenario.

Next week, I will be documenting the best way I’ve found to create flexible, accommodating, and stylish wardrobe for fall. Simplicity in style is such a good thing, pals. Comment, ask, or email me any questions you may have about this topic, and I will try to cover it in the next post! I’d love to help anyone considering a capsule wardrobe with any questions/concerns they may have – this is something that has genuinely changed my closet, and my perspective, for the better.

-till next time! Niara

 

One thought on “why you should try a capsule wardrobe

let's connect - leave a comment!

